New Contemporary Releases


Coyote Scatters the Stars (2012) 7′
Violin, Piano (optional speaker)
Commissioned by the Museum of Mathematics in New York for its grand opening gala benefit, the music is  based on a Native American story. The violin portrays Coyote and the piano represents everything else,  especially the stars themselves. It is recommended that the story which is included with the music be told to  the audience before the work is performed to enhance the enjoyment and comprehension of the piece.

Do You Dream in Color? (2009) 20′
Mezzo-Soprano Solo: 1.1+EH.1.1: Mba.Vib.Hp: Str
This is the original orchestration by Adolphe of his setting for voice and piano of a poem by blind Mezzo- Soprano Laurie Rubin. The work is both a personal memoir and a celebration of the human spirit.

Fra(nz)g-mentation (2010) 6′ String Quartet In celebration of their 20th anniversary, the Brentano String Quartet commissioned a group of composers to  complement incomplete works by Dufay, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, and Shostakovich. Fra(nz)g- mentation is based on Franz Schubert’s unfinished Andante from his 12th string quartet.

Composer Peng-Peng GongPENG-PENG GONG

Chamber Tone Poems, Book 2: Quartet for Strings (2011) 9′
String Quartet
This second of Peng-Peng Gong’s Chamber Tone Poems is a 9-minute ballade that unifies the structural  intensity of the classical era, but with ethnomusical approach that spans from the most luscious lyricism to  the wildest dances.

Symphony No. 3: Eines Helden Träne (A Hero’s Tear) (2012) 32′
2+Picc.2+EH.2+EbCl.2+Cbsn: Timp.Perc(5).Hp: Str( recommended)
The Third Symphony is scored for full orchestra, constructed in four movements strictly following the High  Classical and Romantic traditions, with a tragic and expansive overture (Adagio lamentoso & Allegro marziale),  a symphonic nocturne (Andante molto expressivo), a light and quick scherzo (Presto), and a vibrant rondo- finale (Molto allegro). The “Hero” in the subtitle does not represent any human figure, but to art itself and its  failing social status. The music is grand and highly emotional, containing rich folk elements that strive to  prove the unity between an ethnical spirit and the meaning of selfhood.

EuroHartke crop dropshadowSTEPHEN HARTKE

Audistis Quia Dictum Est: Motet for 4 Mixed Choirs (16 Voices) (2011) 4′
4 SATB a capella choirs with rehearsal piano part.
Audidistis quia dictum est was commissioned by The New York Virtuoso Singers, Harold Rosenbaum, music  director, in celebration of their 25th anniversary season (2012-13). It is an a capella setting of one of the  most challenging and controversial passages in the New Testament, wherein Jesus says that we ought to  respond to violence with non-violence. Includes piano part for rehearsal.

Composer David SchiffDAVID SCHIFF

Fanfare for (5) Reed(s) for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon “Fanfare for Reed” (2012) 2′
Oboe, Bb Clarinet, Bassoon
Commissioned by Chamber Music Northwest in honor of Reed College’s Centennial celebration, with the support  of Paul L. King.

Composer David StockDAVID STOCK

Adonai mi Sinai (2008) 5′
Cantor, SATB Chorus, Piano
Text in Hebrew and English, based on Deuteronomy. Commissioned by the Women of Temple Sinai.

On Eastern Time (2012) 6′
Violin Solo
Pentatonic modality is combined with serial and Asian traditional music performance techniques to create a virtuosic meditation for solo violin.

Composer Reza ValiREZA VALI

Geryan: Calligraphy No. 12 (2012) 9′
String Quartet
Written for the Carpe Diem Quartet, Geryan is a string quartet in one movement, dedicated to the memory of the composer’s mother, Heshmat Alishâhi-Vali.

Khojasteh: Calligraphy No. 10 (2010) 9′
Violin, Cello
Khojasteh (Calligraphy No. 10) was written for and dedicated to Cyrus Forough. The musical material of the  work is entirely derived from Persian traditional music. The tuning, rhythm, form, as well as polyphonic  constructions (such as imitation, inversion, retrogradation) relate to the Persian modal system, the Dástgâh,  particularly the  mode of Návâ (pronounced nahVaa), one of the oldest modes of the Persian system.

Shcherbakov photo 2IGOR SHCHERBAKOV

Concerto for Flute, Percussion and Strings (2008) 22′
Flute Solo: Perc(2): Str
In memory Oleg Kyva.

Concerto No. 1 for Piano and Strings (1997) 17′
Dedicated to Yozhef Ormeny.

Concerto No. 2 for Piano and Strings (2006) 17′
Piano Solo: Timp.Perc(2).Hp: Str
In memory Dmitry Shostakovich.

Penitential Verse: Chamber Symphony No. 1 for Violin and Strings (1989) 12′
Dedicated to Anna Shcherbakova.

Warum: Chamber Symphony No. 5 for Strings (2002) 10′
Dedicated to Valerii Matiukhin.