The Heifetz Collection Update

S512002 Cover art smTHE HEIFETZ COLLECTION is an exclusive series of Jascha Heifetz violin editions including wonderful and yet previously unpublished arrangements and transcriptions from Heifetz’s own manuscripts.


Handel Passacaglia for Two Violins – Read the review from! The edition is also featured in their Holiday gift guide for violinists, excerpt follows: “The Handel-Halvorsen ‘Passacaglia’ is a popular duet written for violin with either viola or cello. But did you know that you can play it with two violins? In fact, Jascha Heifetz wrote a version for two violins, and it was just re-discovered and published in this year.”

Wieniawski Polonaise Brillante No. 2

March 2015 releases and beyond:

  • Wieniawski Polonaise  No. 1
  • Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso and Havanaise (Saint-Saens)
  • Beethoven Folio
  • Tchaikovsky Collection
  • The Heifetz Scale Book


“Rejuvination” Symphony an Historically Epic Work

PPG Sym4 bow smallSymphony No. 4 (“Rejuvenation”) by Peng-Peng Gong premiered with the Shanghai Philharmonic Oct. 24, 2014. The Chinese National Government commissioned the symphony for the 65th anniversary of modern China. Based on the theme, “The Chinese Dream”, it is the largest classical symphony in Chinese symphonic history to date due to its gigantic emotional scale and epic scope. Divided into two parts and fifteen movements, the work is scored for a 105-piece orchestra with a total duration of 90 minutes. Each movement is an individual portrayal of a certain natural and spiritual element, through which the composer expresses his own interpretation of the Dream. The title “Rejuvenation” has a double meaning of both an ethnic rejuvenation and a revival of classical music tradition as a group of aesthetic principals, he writes, “equally shared by the world and not limited to the West, and that their artistic appeal is eternally modern.”

View full performance video.

China’s Government has also commissioned Gong’s to-be Fifth Symphony for performance in 2015 celebrating the 70th year end of World War II.

“Organ Symphony” Enthusiastically Received

Disneyhall organ smallStephen Hartke’s Symphony No. 4 was premiered at Disney Hall by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, led by Gustavo Dudamel, with three concerts from November 20-22, 2014. On November 23 an additional performance was given in Costa Mesa, CA at Segerstrom Hall.

In his program notes, the composer writes, “I have to wanted to compose a symphony for organ and orchestra since I first started to write music at the age of ten. Thanks to the kindness and support of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, I was able not only to realize this dream but to sketch a good deal of the organ part at the console of the Disney Hall organ exploring its wonderful array of unique timbres. In casting the piece as a symphony with organ, it was my aim to use it as an integral part of the orchestral fabric, a fifth choir contributing its special colors in the way that only it can.” The Los Angeles Philharmonic’s principal keyboardist Joanne Pearce Martin performed the organ part for the premiere.

Robert Thomas of Pasadena Star-News writes, “One of the reasons orchestras have a hard time constructing programs for organ is a lack of main course selections beyond Saint-Saëns’ Symphony No. 3. We now have a worthy alternative, thanks to the world premiere of Symphony No. 4 by Glendale resident and USC composition professor, Stephen Hartke.” Full article here.